Last updated on 19 juil. 2020
The Université Lumière Lyon 2 is a public institution governed by a deliberate and organized internal democracy, whose main principles are autonomy, participation indemocratic governing bodies, and multidisciplinarity.

The President of the University is elected by an absolute majority by the faculty and staff elected members of the Board of Directors (fr. Conseil d’Administration or CA). Elected for a four-year term (renewable once), the president is supported by ateam of appointed vice-presidents.

The University has 13 Faculties and Institutes, which bring together academic departments and research laboratories. They have their own decision-making body, the Faculty Council. See the list of the Faculties and Institutes here.
Nathalie Dompnier

Nathalie Dompnier
Professor of Political Science, Nathalie Dompnier became the 13th president of the Université Lumière Lyon 2 in 2016.
Nathalie Dompnier is the first woman to serve in this role. Before election to her current role, she was appointed Dean of the Anthropology, Sociology and Political Science Faculty, a position she occupied for 2 years.
Professor Dompnier was born in 1974, and began her career as a research fellow at the Grenoble Institute of Political Studies in 1997. In 2000, she became an associate professor in Economic and Social Sciences during which time she taught in both the Lyon and the Strasbourg Academy.
In 2002, she became a Temporary Lecturer and Research Assistant (fr.ATER) at the Grenoble Institute of Political Studies where she obtained a PhD after defending a thesis entitled “The keys in the ballot box. The socio-historic construction of electoral deviation in France since 1848” (fr La clef des urnes. La construction socio-historique de la deviance électorale en France depuis 1848).
After obtaining her doctorate, she held the post of lecturer in Political Science at the Université d’Avignon et du Pays de Vaucluse until 2007 when she became a professor at the Université Lumière Lyon 2.
Nathalie Dompnier is also a junior member of the Academic Institute of France (Institut Universitaire de France). Her research focuses on political practices and behaviour, electoral standards and deviances; technical systems and electoral administration; representative democracy and political legitimacy.


The presidential team consists of nine vice-presidents, each in charge of specific areas of expertise.

Bernard Baudry
Vice-President in charge of Budgetary Resources and Patrimony

Samuel Baudry
Vice-President in charge of Courses Accreditation and Educational Program Assessment

Willy Beauvallet
Vice-President in charge of Working Conditions

Simon Gadras
Vice-President in charge of Digital Resources

É a-Marie Goepfert
Vice-President in charge of Communication and Cultural Engagement

Hervé Goldfarb
Vice-President in charge of Continuing Education and Apprenticeships

Valérie Hass
Vice-President in charge of Educational Programmes and Student Life

Marie-Karine Lhommé
Vice-President in charge of Educational Orientation and Professional Development

Isabelle Von Bueltzingsloewen
Vice-President in charge of Research

Jim Walker
Vice-President of the Board of Directors and in charge of International Relations

Student Vice-Presidents

In charge of representing the student body, the student vice-presidents work in collaboration with administrative services and act as a liaison between students, unions, associations and the administration. They also represent students in their dealings with various partners in student life.

Loïc Bidault, vice-président étudiant Loïc Bidault
Student Vice-president on the Board of Directors

Mélissande Croc
Student, Vice-President on the Academic Council